Ergo Junior Hockey World Cup Mönchengladbach 2013
Mönchengladbach, Germany - July 27 - 4, 2013


South Africa start into ERGO Hockey Junior World Cup

July 27, 2013
Five senior players named in the squad

The South Africa Under-21 women’s hockey team have five players capped in the Investec South Africa women’s senior side and are confident of putting up a good showing at the 2013 Junior World Cup women’s event in Mönchengladbach, Germany from Saturday to next Sunday. The senior SA players in Germany are the U21 side’s captain, Izelle Lategan, fellow strikers Tanya Britz and Lilian du Plessis, midfielder Quanita Bobbs and goalkeeper Phume Mbande.

SA meet China at 9.30 am Saturday and team manager Charmaine Koekemoer said from the team hotel in Mönchengladbach Friday afternoon that preparation has been good.

“We have won five and lost three matches in the build-up over the last three weeks and while the girls know that China are going to be strong, they also know that they are as well prepared as they possibly can be.”

SA play further Pool B matches Sunday at 10 am (SA time) against Argentina before their last Pool B clash next Tuesday, July 30 against Canada at 2 pm (SA time). Head coach Lindsey Wright's SA team will be looking to finish in the top two in Pool B so as to secure a berth in the quarter-finals next Thursday.

In the eight practice matches, South Africa beat South Korea 2-1 (Thursday), beat India 4-1, beat Belgium 2-1, 4-1 and 4-3, and lost to The Netherlands 2-6, The Netherlands U18 side 3-5, and Germany 2-3.

“The coaching staff are satisfied with the development of the team and are hopeful that we can take the experience gained from the practice matches into the World Cup,” said Koekemoer.

Other than those mentioned in Pool B, the Pool A line-up features Ghana, South Korea, The Netherlands and the USA. Pool C features Australia, India, New Zealand and Russia, while Pool D has Belgium, England, Spain and Germany in its ranks.

The 16 teams then go into the cross-pool playoffs next Thursday, which include the quarter-finals, before next Friday’s top eight playoffs that include the semi-finals. Next Saturday’s matches feature the bottom eight teams in playoffs before next Sunday’s final classification matches for the 16 teams. Sunday’s fare includes the gold and bronze medal matches.



Bronwyn Kretzmann, Erin Hunter, Nicole la Fleur, Quanita Bobbs, Sherry King, Suléke Brand, Taryn Mallett (vice-capt), Tarryn Glasby (all Western Province); Izelle Lategan (capt), Liné Malan, Tanya Britz, Nicole Walraven (all Free State); Jacinta Jubb, Lilian du Plessis, Phume Mbande (all Northern Blues); Tiffany Jones (North West); Toni Marx (Eastern Province); Nika Nel (Southern Gauteng).


Source: SA Hockey


Latest News

  • Olympic Games Tokyo 2020: Spotlight on Spain
  • Dutch defence stands firm to win third consecutive EuroHockey title
  • Dutch delight home fans as they win EuroHockey title
  • Olympic Games Tokyo 2020: Spotlight on Canada

Our website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the FIH website. To find out more about our data policy please click here

--google ad sense