Champions Trophy Rosario 2012
Rosario, Argentina - January 28 - 3, 2012


Paumen & Michelsen named 2011 Players of the Year

February 2, 2012
Netherlands captain adds senior prize to her 2008 Young Player title

Netherlands captain Maartje Paumen has been honoured by her fellow international hockey players by being named as the women’s FIH Player of the Year for 2011, with New Zealand’s Stacey Michelsen claiming the Young Player award.

The winners were presented with their prizes at the Argentina FIH Champions Trophy in Rosario by FIH President Leandro Negre, with the ceremony taking place shortly after the two players went head-to-head in the crucial Quarter Final match between their respective nations. 

Maartje Paumen
has long been recognised as one of the world’s finest penalty corner flickers, but in 2011 she firmly established herself as both an exceptional midfielder and inspirational captain as the Netherlands re-claimed their place at the top of the FIH World Rankings. Paumen was the driving force behind Dutch triumphs in the EuroHockey Nations Championships (Mönchengladbach, GER) as well as the Rabo FIH Champions Trophy (Amstelveen, NED), where she produced a stunning hat-trick against world champions Argentina in the tournament final to help her team recover from 3-0 down before claiming victory in a dramatic penalty shoot-out. She finished as top scorer in both events and was named Player of the Tournament at the Champions Trophy.

Paumen took first place ahead of Argentina’s seven times winner Luciana Aymar, legendary Germany striker Natascha Keller, South Africa’s world record goal-scorer Pietie Coetzee and the outstanding Li Hongxia of China.

Paumen’s success in the FIH Player of the Year Award arrives just two days after she wrote herself into the history books in Rosario. On Tuesday 31st January 2012, she became the highest goal-scorer in Champions Trophy history when she netted twice in the Netherlands’ 4-1 win over Japan. The double strike took her past the existing record of 22 goals set by Germany’s Nadine Ernsting-Krienke, a landmark which had stood for five years. At just 26 years of age, it is clear that Maartje Paumen is likely to continue improving this mark for many years to come. 

Stacey Michelsen
fought off competition from the most exciting up-and-coming talents in the sport to win the women’s FIH Young Player of the Year Award, such as Dutch duo Joyce Sombroek and Willemijn Bos, USA star Katelyn Falgowski and compatriot Charlotte Harrison.  Since making her debut in 2009, the now 20-year-old Michelsen has made a name for herself as an energetic and supremely skilful midfielder who has a keen eye for goal. She has now clocked up well over 70 international appearances and looks likely to have an outstanding playing career ahead of her. Despite being one of the youngest players in the side, Michelsen is central figure in a Black Sticks team that has re-established itself as a hockey powerhouse over the past 12 months, a fact highlighted by their Bronze medal success at last year’s Rabo FIH Champions Trophy. She becomes the first ever New Zealander to win an FIH Player of the Year Award.   

Nominations for this prestigious prize were put together by a panel of selected coaches from many of the world’s best international teams, including Max Caldas (Netherlands), Adam Commens (Australia), Michael Behrmann (Germany), Danny Kerry (England & Great Britain) and Mark Hager (New Zealand) before a player vote determined the respective winners.

The Men’s FIH Players of the Year award winners were announced at the Owen G Glenn FIH Champions Trophy last December, with Australian duo Jamie Dwyer and Matthew Swann winning the respective Player and Young Player prizes. It was Dwyer’s fifth FIH Player of the Year Award, following wins in 2004, 2007, 2009 and 2010, with the star attacker also claiming the Young Player prize in 2002. 

Past winners


1998   Alyson Annan  (AUS)
1999   Natascha Keller (GER)
2000   Alyson Annan (AUS)
2001   Luciana Aymar (ARG)
2002   Cecilia Rognoni (ARG)
2003   Mijntje Donners (NED)
2004   Luciana Aymar (ARG)
2005   Luciana Aymar (ARG)
2006   Minke Booij (NED)
2007   Luciana Aymar (ARG)
2008   Luciana Aymar (ARG)
2009   Luciana Aymar (ARG) & Naomi van As (NED)
2010   Luciana Aymar (ARG)
2011   Maartje Paumen (NED)

Young Women
2001   Angie Skirving (AUS)
2002   Soledad Garcia (ARG)
2003   Maartje Scheepstra (NED)
2004   Soledad Garcia (ARG)
2005   Maartje Goderie (NED)
2006   Mi Hyun Park (KOR)
2007   Maike Stockel (GER)
2008   Maartje Paumen (NED)
2009   Casey Eastham (AUS)
2010   Zhao Yudiao (CHN)
2011   Stacey Michelsen (NZL) Back

Latest News

  • For all information about the Tokyo 2020 Olympic hockey events, please click here
  • Olympic Games Tokyo 2020: Ready to go!
  • Tokyo 2020 – Men’s Pool B Preview – European heavyweights aim to assert authority
  • Tokyo 2020 Preview: Women’s Pool B – Las Leonas take on titans of Oceania & Asia

Our website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the FIH website. To find out more about our data policy please click here

--google ad sense