Irish Hockey League crowns champions

May 2, 2011

Women's Title Game:
Pegasus 4-1 Hermes

Pegasus completed the first national double since 2007 as Suzanne Beaney's sparkling hat-trick took home the ESB Electric Women's Irish Hockey League, repeating the dose over Hermes whom they beat in the Irish Senior Cup final, too.
Beaney crashed home three times from the top of the circle, each with razor-sharp accuracy and masses of horsepower to give Emma Gray no chance on each occasion.

Her side dominated for the most part, suffering just a brief blip at the start of the second half when Hermes threatened to make a game of it, Sinead McCarthy nicking back a goal.

But Pegasus were already 2-0 up at that point, both coming from defensive errors from free outs.

Beaney profited for the first, a Vanessa Surgeoner steal on the left-wing. She bounded and bounced past two defenders before throttling the airborne ball into the corner at pace.

And then Michelle Harvey took up Kate McConnell's easily earned free and the latter was not tracked as ran into the circle and picked up a return pass, finishing neatly at the near post.
By way of response, Hermes got back into the game at the same stage which saw them prosper against Railway in the semi-final.

Lisa Jacob was the taliswoman while McCarthy burst out of the back in the 44th minute, fed left for Anna O'Flanagan who returned the favour to McCarthy who followed up well to touch in first time.

It was their purple patch but it was cut short by yellow card suspensions to Eimear Horan (dissent) and Kerry McComish (playing the ball over shoulder-height).

They did not concede while down to nine players but their momentum was stalled and Pegasus reasserted their will.
Beaney restored the two-goal lead in the 59th minute, again a virtuoso effort, emerging from a group of three markers, rounding the circle to the right and striking across Gray's bows.
And she completed the victory with another stunning effort, Kirsty McCollum's left-wing free bobbling her way and Beaney promptly smacked it in.

Susanne Beaney 3 (10th, 59th, 61st minute)
Kate McConnell (15th minute)

Sinead McCarthy (44th minute)

Men's Final Report
 Banbridge claimed their first All-Ireland club title since 1991 as Owen Magee's penalty shoot-out goal denied their Lisnagarvey hosts the men's Irish Hockey League title on the Comber Road.
The teenager repeated the feat of Saturday afternoon when he again held his nerve to score the decisive penalty after Bann had been pegged back just two minutes from the end of normal time.

Indeed, Sunday's final narrative bore a striking resemblance to Saturday's win over Glenanne. They never trailed but were caught late in the day when the hard yards seemed to have put them in a prime position.

Again, they were without forward threats Josh Moffett and Stephen Dowds, leaving Colin Dowds to plough a lone furrow up front with the energy of Dane Ward, Drew Carlisle and Bruce McCandless to join from deep.

That the final itself took a while to ignite suited their game-plan just fine as Ross McCandless' block-busting drag-flick was the sole divider between the teams for a long time.

That was until Timmy Cockram's amazing reverse-stick effort, picking out the top left corner to level matters with 15 minutes to go.

Banbridge re-emerged from their shell to ensure a fascinating closing period. Bann got back on top, winning a penalty corner six minutes from time which Ross McCandless again slotted home to put his side in the driving seat at 2-1.

They were not able to hold out, though, as an attempt to block Mark Raphael's flow by Scott McCandless coughed up a corner and a green card suspension.

'Garvey switched right and then into the centre where Cockram nudged over the line from six yards, forcing extra-time.

And his side might have had a winner when Lennox let a ball run only for Greg Thompson to dive in behind him. He got a hefty touch but umpire Colin Hutchinson deemed the ball fractionally over the line before the intervention.

It was the closest either side came to breaking the deadlock but Bann had Saturday's experience against Glenanne showed as they approached each penalty with more confidence.

Dane Ward and Bruce McCandless put them clear while Lennox kept three out, offering the teenage Magee the chance to win it.
His approach was smooth and his finish slick to bring the highest club honour back to Ulster for the first time since 2005.

Banbridge 2-2 Lisnagarvey AET
Banbridge win 3/1 in Penalty Shoot Out

Banbridge (Ross McCandless 2)
Lisnagarvey (Timmy Cockram 2)


Source: Irish League Press Release


Latest News

  • FIH reveals match schedule of Indoor Hockey World Cup Belgium 2022
  • Six of the best! Umpiring icons honoured with Golden Whistles at Tokyo 2020
  • Uruguay juniors seeks to make more history in South Africa
  • Retirements & coaching switches dominate post-Tokyo 2020

Our website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the FIH website. To find out more about our data policy please click here