Ireland announces women's EuroHockey Nations Championship squad

July 31, 2009

The Irish Women's Squad selected for the EuroHockey Nations Championship has been revealed by Coach Gene Muller. The squad has been selected after an intensive period of training and matches over the last number of months which has seen the squad most recently compete in the Celtic Cup, Champions Challenge II, and a series against Spain.

Muller's squad which has an average age of 23 years and average caps accumulation of 62 each are by no means in an easy pool. First up they face current European Champions Germany on Saturday 22nd August before facing Scotland on Sunday 23rd and the world number 7's Spain on Tuesday 25th in their third and final pool game. This is a tough group, something Coach Muller is well aware of ÔÇ£The European Championships tournament is the premier event of the year for us and we are exited at the prospect of playing in Amsterdam in late August.  We have prepared well for this tournament and are hoping to perform to our potential with a young and competitive team.ÔÇØ

 ÔÇ£Europe is the toughest world cup qualification zone, with four of the the top seven teams in the world playing at this tournament.  Our pool features Germany, Spain, and Scotland, so we will no doubt be challenged to our limit to perform.ÔÇØ He continued.

Muller's squad sees three changes to the 18 selected for the recent Spanish series, Rachel Mulligan, Niamh Small and Louisa Healy all make way for Mary Goode, Lauren Barr and Alex Speers.

Once Ireland emerge from the Pool stages they will face either The Netherlands, England, Azerbaijan or Russia over the two day play off stages, from which the bottom two (7th / 8th) will be relegated to the Trophy for 2011 but the top four will automatically qualify for the 2010 BDO World Cup in Argentina.

Team Ireland: Lauren Barr, Emma Clarke, Bridget Cleland, Lizzie Colvin, Eimear Cregan, Roisin Flinn, Megan Frazer, Mary Goode, Emma Gray, Michelle Harvey, Lisa Jacob, Shirley McCay, Cathy McKean, Cliodhna Sargent, Alex Speers, Emma Smyth, Emma Stewart, Nikki Symmons.

Source: Irish Hockey Association


Latest News

  • FIH reveals match schedule of Indoor Hockey World Cup Belgium 2022
  • Six of the best! Umpiring icons honoured with Golden Whistles at Tokyo 2020
  • Uruguay juniors seeks to make more history in South Africa
  • Retirements & coaching switches dominate post-Tokyo 2020

Our website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the FIH website. To find out more about our data policy please click here