Photo(© FIH \/ Dr. Wolfgang Sternberger)

FIH announces Pools for BDO FIH World Cup

May 3, 2010

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) has announced the pools for the BDO FIH World Cup women, to be played in Rosario, Argentina from 29 August-11 September 2010.


With Australia qualified as 12th and final team early May, the twelve participants were allocated into two pools of six teams each based upon the latest ABN AMRO World Rankings.


Olympic Champion and defending World Cup Champion Netherlands is the top seed in Pool A. The Dutch team will meet Germany, Australia, Japan, New Zealand and India in the pool matches. Host Argentina will head Pool B and will play against China, Spain, England Korea and South Africa.


The teams ranked first and second of each pool after the single round robin preliminary phase will proceed to the semifinals. The FIH will release the match schedule in the coming weeks.


BDO FIH World Cup women 2010

Rosario, Argentina

29 August-11 September


Pool A:





New Zealand



Pool B:






South Africa


Latest News

  • FIH Hockey Olympic qualifiers: Spain’s seven year journey to Tokyo
  • FIH Hockey Olympic qualifiers: Ambitious Ireland ready for Canadian challenge
  • FIH Hockey Olympic qualifiers: Malaysia look to return to Olympic hockey after 20 year absence
  • FIH Hockey Olympic qualifiers: India one of the world’s best, says Russia’s Pavel Golubev

Our website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the FIH website. To find out more about our data policy please click here

--google ad sense