Home Menu

Want the Stats? Most Wins. Highest Goals.. Check out these amazing facts

April 5, 2017

London, England will be the platform for the greatest hockey event on the planet as the 13th edition of the Women's World Cup takes place in 2018.

During its 44-year history, 29 different nations have participated in a grand total of 535 games, scoring 1,700 goals. That averages out at just over three goals a match. Alongside netball, women’s World Cup hockey is one of the oldest World Cups for women – football, for instance, only introduced a women’s World Cup in 1991.

One team stands out head and shoulders above the rest. Netherlands women have won the World Cup an astonishing seven times, including the last edition. In that time, the Netherlands have played 93 matches and have a win rate of 77.78 per cent. That translates into 70 wins, 11 draws and just nine losses. They have scored an incredible 251 goals and conceded 62.

Oranje’s nearest rivals are Argentina, Australia and Germany (playing as West Germany). These teams have each won the trophy twice. The most recent winner, apart from the Netherlands, is Argentina, who won the World Cup in 2010.

While the Netherlands might rule the headlines, the match stats indicate that things are close between the top ranked nations. Argentina and the Netherlands have met eight times in World Cup competitions since 1991, and the honours are even with three wins apiece and two draws.

Australia’s record against the Netherlands is not so impressive – 10 meetings have resulted in nine wins for Oranje, while England’s record is even worse against the current World Cup holders – seven matches, seven losses.

The win percentage statistics show that the four nations who have a World Cup title lead the way in terms of win percentages, but both Korea and Canada will be pleased to see that they sit in fifth and sixth place respectively, ahead of higher ranked rivals, such as England, China, the USA and New Zealand. The ambitious USA team will hope to reverse fortunes that have seen them register only one win against Argentina, Australia or Netherlands at a World Cup.

Two coaches with World Cup gold medals will be leading their teams in London - Alyson Annan of Australia won with Australia’s Hockeyroos in 1994 and 1998, while Janneke Schopman, Coach of USA, won with Netherlands in 2006

Title Partner
FIH Global Leadership Partner
FIH Partners
Event Partners
FIH Suppliers
Event Suppliers