Olympic Games London 2012
London, Great Britain - July 29 - 10, 2012


16 Leonas for London

June 26, 2012
Luciana Aymar to lead experienced squad in the bid for the missing title

Yesterday afternoon, the Argentinean Hockey Confederation announced the list of 16 plus 2 players who will be representing the current World Champions and Champions Trophy holders at the Olympic Games.

The head coach of the Argentine women's team, Carlos Retegui, announced a list which sees veteran hockey superstar Luciana Aymar, who has already been designated as her country's flagbearer in the Olympic Opening Ceremony, lead a solid and experienced group of players, despite notable absences such as pregnant goalkeeper Belen Succi or discarded Soledad Garcia. Mechi Margalot who had been working on a comeback after years of absence and playing in a number of preparatory events over the last few months is notably absent from the final list.

However, only one of the player on the squad of 16 was not part of the team that won the Champions Trophy earlier this year, and nine of the players were on the squad that won the title at the 2010 World Cup in Rosario, confirming that this Argentine team is definitely good for a podium finish - and even a candidate for the very top, the only title that eludes seven time FIH Player of the Year Luciana Aymar, and quite possibly the logical next step for the team that took silver in Sydney and bronze in Athens and Beijing.

A fact drawing attention is that Carlos Retegui has chosen to include two goalkeepers in the core group of 16, allocating the P accreditations to outfield players Carla Dupuy and Julieta Franco - a move that is in stark contrast to the vast majority of teams participating in the Games. It is also worth remembering the fact that long time first goalkeeper Belen Succi only became unavailable a few months ago, consigning Argentina to taking two goalkeepers who have no more than a few handful of caps between them.

Olympic team: Luciana Aymar, Laura Del Colle (GK), Florencia Mutio (GK), Mariela Scarone, Silvina D´Elía, Noel Barrionuevo, Florencia Habif, Daniela Sruoga, Josefina Sruoga, Rosario Luchetti, Sofía Maccari, Carla Rebecchi, Delfina Merino, Macarena Rodríguez, Rocío Sánchez Moccia, Martina Cavallero

P accreditations: Carla Dupuy, Julieta Franco

Source: Argentinean Hockey Confederation


Latest News

  • Uruguay and Austria hope for dream debut performances
  • SIMBA Chain's Proprietary NFT Marketplace partners with International Hockey Federation
  • Ukraine to miss FIH Hockey Women’s Junior World Cup
  • Athletes ready to rise to the challenge

Our website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the FIH website. To find out more about our data policy please click here