FIH release schedule for Hockey World League Semi-Final Valencia, Spain

February 26, 2015
FIH have released the pools and match schedule for the women’s Hockey World League Semi-Final in Valencia, Spain.

FIH have released the pools and match schedule for the women’s Hockey World League Semi-Final in Valencia, Spain.  The Hockey World League Semi Final is a qualifier for the 2016 Rio Olympic Games with three guaranteed places available to the ten teams competing in the Semi-Final leg in Spain. 

The Hockey World League Semi-Final in Valencia takes place from 10-21 June 2015 in Spain’s third largest city and features an extraordinary line-up.   The ten teams making up the pools are a mixture of automatic qualifiers courtesy of their world rankings (at time of entry), the host and the teams who join via their qualification success in Round 2 of the Hockey World League.

Pool A features 2014 Champions Trophy winners Argentina alongside London 2012 Olympic Bronze medallists Great Britain, host nation Spain, China and Round 2 qualifier Canada.  While Pool B includes the high flying USA team with Germany, South Africa and two qualifiers from Round 2 – Ireland and Uruguay.

The opening day of the event (Wednesday 10 June) will feature eight of the ten teams taking part and the pool matches will be spread over five days. The event will conclude with the finals and play off’s on Sunday 21 June.

FIH President, Leandro Negre said:  “We are greatly looking forward to the Semi-Final event in Valencia.  Spain always has amazing crowds and we know there will be great support for the home nation.  With Olympic qualification at stake, we expect an action-packed and competitive event.”

RFEH President Santiago Deó Valera said: “The Olympic qualifying event in Valencia is not far away. We are looking forward to what will be a great event, which we are sure everybody will enjoy, with excellent play from all participating teams and where we hope that our National team achieves the classification for participating in Rio.


 Participating Teams


Pool A                                     Pool B

Argentina                                USA

China                                      Germany

Great Britain                          South Africa

Spain                                       Ireland

Canada                                   Uruguay                   


Latest News

  • Japan seal a successful Asia Cup with win over Korea
  • 2022 Women's Pan Am Cup: History makers Chile join Argentina on road to World Cup
  • History beckons as Chile join Argentina on road to Men's World Cup
  • History beckons for Chile men as they join Argentina on road to World Cup

Our website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the FIH website. To find out more about our data policy please click here