Hockey World League Semi-Final Johor Bahru 2013
Johor Bahru, Malaysia - June 29 - 7, 2013


Roggero & Retegui unveiled as Argentina coaches

May 29, 2013
Provisional squads also revealed ahead of World League events

The Confederación Argentina de Hockey (CAH) has confirmed that Emanuel Roggero (women) and Carlos Retegui (men) are the new head coaches of the national teams.  The two coaches were presented to the press earlier this week by recently elected CAH President Anibal Fernandez, who was accompanied by Vice President Sandra Isola and Secretary Mario Galliano.

Emanuel Roggero will oversee Las Leonas, the globally renowned women’s side that claimed the Silver medal at the London 2012 Olympic Games.  The hugely successful team from London was coached by newly-appointed men’s coach Carlos Retegui, a man who will be aiming to replicate his previous achievements in his new position. It is the second time that Retegui has coached the men’s national side, having guided the team to a Bronze medal at the 2008 FIH Champions Trophy in Rotterdam (NED). Like Retegui, Roggero also has an historical connection with his new team, having held the role of assistant coach to Gabriel Minadeo in 2005.

Roggero and Retegui are both former Argentine national team players and have been involved in many prestigious tournaments including World Cups, Olympics and Junior World Cups.

The two coaches are currently working with their respective player groups at the National Centre for High Performance Sport ahead of the upcoming World League Semi Final events. Argentina women will be competing in the Investec Hockey World League Semi Final in London, which takes place 22nd-30th June 2013. The men head to the Malaysian city of Johor Bahru for their World League Semi Final competition, and will be in action from 29th June to 7th July 2013. The provisional squads can be found below. These will be trimmed down to 18 player groups ahead of the respective events.  

Provisional Squad – Women
Luciana Aymar, Martina Cavallero, Macarena Rodríguez, Delfina Merino, Rosario Luchetti, Rocío Sánchez Moccia, Noel Barrionuevo, Laura Del Colle, Daniela Sruoga, Josefina Sruoga, Mariela Scarone, Carla Rebecchi, Silvina D´Elía, Florencia Mutio, Sofía Maccari, Gabriela Ludueña, Giselle Juárez, Victoria Zuloaga, Ana López Basavilbaso, Sofía Cesanelli, Laura Aladro, Belén Succi, Florencia Habif and Agustina Albertario.  

Provisional Squad – Men
Federico Bermejillo, Juan Manuel Vivaldi, Tomás Santiago, Matías Rey, Ignacio Bergner, Gonzalo Peillat, Lucas Argento, Leandro Tollini, Juan Gilardi, Nahuel Salis, Manuel Brunet, Pedro Ibarra, Juan Garreta, Matías Paredes, Lucas Rey, Lucas Rossi, Juan Martín López, Guido Barreiro, Facundo Callioni, Guillermo Schickendantz, Lucas Vila, Agustín Mazzilli, Joaquín Menini, Juan Cruz Agulleiro, Tomás Argento and Isidoro Ibarra.

Source material: CAH Media Release


Latest News

  • Japan seal a successful Asia Cup with win over Korea
  • 2022 Women's Pan Am Cup: History makers Chile join Argentina on road to World Cup
  • History beckons as Chile join Argentina on road to Men's World Cup
  • History beckons for Chile men as they join Argentina on road to World Cup

Our website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the FIH website. To find out more about our data policy please click here