Hockey World League Semi-Final Johor Bahru 2013
Johor Bahru, Malaysia - June 29 - 7, 2013


Pereira names SA team for HWL Semis

June 13, 2013
18 player squad confirmed ahead of tournament in Malaysia

The South African Hockey Association released the names Thursday of the South Africa men’s hockey team that will do battle in the World League semi-finals, which will take place from June 29 to July 7 in Johor Bahru, Malaysia.

South Africa enjoyed a 3-0 triumph over Malaysia in the four-Test series that ended at a packed Randburg Hockey Stadium on Tuesday.

The SA team for the World League semi-finals in Malaysia has London 2012 Olympians in Jonty Robinson, Clint Panther, Taine Paton, Wade Paton, Tim Drummond, Rassie Pieterse, Lance Louw, captain Austin Smith, named Mugg & Bean Player of the Series on Tuesday, Julian Hykes, vice-captain Rhett Halkett and Lloyd Norris-Jones.

The team of 18 includes seven players from Southern Gauteng, five from Western Province, four from KZN Coastal Raiders and two from Northern Blues.

SA head coach Charlie Pereira said that choosing the final 18 from the talent available was extremely tough.

“There were lads who came very close but as always somebody is going to miss out,” said Pereira.

The coach said practice games in Malaysia were in the process of being arranged and at this stage the possibilities included Argentina, Japan and Malaysia U21.

World number 12 South Africa fly out to Malaysia on June 20 and Pereira said the lads would have a week to acclimatise before the tournament got under way.

In Pool B, SA meet world number four England on June 29, world number 13 Malaysia on June 30 and world number five Pakistan on July 2. All the SA matches start at 3 pm (SA time).

The teams in Pool A are world number one Germany, world number eight Korea, world number 10 Argentina and world number 16 Japan. 

Rassie Pieterse (Southern Gauteng), Gowan Jones (KZN Coastal Raiders).
Defenders: Austin Smith (capt, Western Province), Francois Pretorius (Northern Blues), Rhett Halkett (vice-capt, WP), Lance Louw (SG), Jethro Eustice (SG).
Midfielders: Jonty Robinson (NB), Clint Panther (SG), Wade Paton (KCR), Tim Drummond (KCR), Nick Gonsalves (SG), Taine Paton (KCR).
Strikers: Julian Hykes (SG), Craig Haley (WP), Pierre de Voux (WP), Miguel da Graca (SG), Lloyd Norris-Jones (WP).
Team staff - Charlie Pereira (Head Coach), Bartel Berkhout (Technical Advisor), Pierre le Roux (Trainer), Moabi Malebye (Trainer/Video Analyst), Robin van Ginkel (Conditioning Coach), Megyn Robertson (Physiotherapist), Martin van Staden (Manager), Jamie Kroukamp (Video Analyst).

Source: SA Hockey Media Release


Latest News

  • Japan seal a successful Asia Cup with win over Korea
  • 2022 Women's Pan Am Cup: History makers Chile join Argentina on road to World Cup
  • History beckons as Chile join Argentina on road to Men's World Cup
  • History beckons for Chile men as they join Argentina on road to World Cup

Our website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the FIH website. To find out more about our data policy please click here