FIH confirms team allocation for Hockey World League Semi-Finals

October 24, 2016
  • Events taking place between June and July 2017
  • All events are Hockey World Cup 2018 qualifiers
  • Teams now know where they will be playing next summer

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) has confirmed which teams will be taking part in each of the Hockey World League Semi-Finals being played in England, Belgium and South Africa between June and July in 2017.

Two men’s and two women’s Semi-Finals, which are Hockey World Cup 2018 qualifiers, will take place at these three locations between 15 June and 23 July.

10 teams will take part in each Semi-Final, with the first six now confirmed based on their current FIH Hero World Ranking. Four more teams will qualify for each Semi-Final from the Hockey World League Round 2 events taking place between January and April 2017.

England’s men will be looking to pack out the stands at London’s Lee Valley Hockey and Tennis Centre between 15-25 June as they look forward to welcoming Rio 2016 Olympic gold medallists Argentina, reigning European champions Netherlands, Asian champions India, Korea and Pakistan. With such an array of world class talent already confirmed, fans need not miss out. Whilst fixture details will be confirmed soon, fans can already buy tickets for all sessions, including the all-important classification matches, here.

The first women’s Semi-Final begins at the Stade Fallon in Brussels on 21 June and concludes on 2 July. Reigning world champions Netherlands will be going up against hosts Belgium, Oceania champions Australia, Hockey World League Season 2 runners up New Zealand, China and Asian champions Korea.

10 men’s and 10 women’s teams will then descend upon Wits Hockey Club in Johannesburg between 8-23 July in the last of the Semi-Finals.

The men’s event will be contested between Hockey World Cup, World League and Champions Trophy winners Australia, Olympic silver medallists Belgium, Olympic bronze medallists Germany, New Zealand, Spain and hosts South Africa, winners of last year’s African Hockey Championship.

The women’s event will see England, who will be represented by many athletes who won the Rio 2016 Olympic gold medal for Great Britain, take on reigning Hockey Champions Trophy and World League champions Argentina, Olympic bronze medallists Germany, African champions and hosts South Africa, Pan American champions USA and Japan.

Composed of four rounds and played over two years, the Hockey World League shines a spotlight on the sport around the world. Even the smallest hockey-playing nations have the opportunity to write their own chapter in hockey’s history books.

A lot is at stake for teams participating in these Hockey World League Semi-Finals. Whilst vital FIH Hero World Ranking points will be awarded depending on final standings, the top teams from each Semi-Final will qualify for the 2018 Hockey World Cups in India (men) and England (women) in addition to the Hockey World League Finals taking place in India (men) and New Zealand (women) later in 2017.

With the Hockey World League already underway, you can follow all the action from Round 2 over the coming months from locations around the world. Each event will have its own event page on but you can also keep up to date with all the latest information from the Hockey World League by following FIH on TwitterFacebook and Instagram.

Hockey World League Semi-Finals
Participating Teams

London, England (15-25 June 2017)
Argentina; Netherlands; India; England; Korea; Pakistan + 4 teams from Hockey World League Round 2.

Johannesburg, South Africa (8-23 July 2017)
Australia; Germany; Belgium; New Zealand; Spain; South Africa + 4 teams from Hockey World League Round 2.

Brussels, Belgium (21 June – 2 July 2017)
Netherlands; Australia; New Zealand; China; Korea; Belgium + 4 teams from Hockey World League Round 2.

Johannesburg, South Africa (8-23 July 2017)
England; Argentina; USA; Germany; Japan; South Africa + 4 teams from Hockey World League Round 2.

Hockey World Cup 2018 qualification information - download here.
Competition Details for 2016-17 Hockey World League - download here.


Latest News

  • 2022 Women's Pan Am Cup: History makers Chile join Argentina on road to World Cup
  • France to join Men’s FIH Hockey Pro League
  • 2022 Asia Women's Cup: Quartet seal World Cup qualification
  • Asia Women's Cup: Quartet seal World Cup qualification in Oman

Our website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the FIH website. To find out more about our data policy please click here