Find out which athletes are still in with a chance of winning this year's Awards

FIH reveals top three candidates for Hockey Stars Player, Goalkeeper and Rising Star of the Year Awards

January 26, 2018
Lausanne, Switzerland
  • Top three revealed following calculation of votes
  • Winners will be announced on 5 February in Berlin, Germany

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) has announced the top three candidates for the Hockey Stars women’s and men’s Player, Goalkeeper and Rising Star of the Year Awards for 2017.

After voting closed on 15 January, calculations have been made incorporating both the online fan vote and peer voting, which includes votes from fellow players. The winners will be revealed at the official Awards ceremony on the evening of 5 February 2018 in Berlin, Germany.

Listed in alphabetical order, these are the top three candidates from the initial shorlist who received the most votes:

Women’s Player of the Year: Delfina Merino (Argentina); Lidewij Welten (Netherlands); Stacey Michelsen (New Zealand).

Men’s Player of the Year: Arthur van Doren (Belgium); Gonzalo Peillat (Argentina); Mats Grambusch (Germany).

Women’s Goalkeeper of the Year: Aisling D’hooghe (Belgium); Jackie Briggs (USA); Maddie Hinch (England).

Men’s Goalkeeper of the Year: David Harte (Ireland); Juan Vivaldi (Argentina); Vincent Vanasch (Belgium).

Women’s Rising Star of the Year: Maria Jose Granatto (Argentina); Nike Lorenz (Germany); Xan de Waard (Netherlands).

Men’s Rising Star of the Year: Arthur van Doren (Belgium); Timm Herzbruch (Germany); Victor Wegnez (Belgium).

The world will be able to find out who wins by tuning in to FIH’s social media channels, including Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. The results will also be posted on the official event website following the conclusion of the ceremony. 

Previous winners can be found on the official event website here.



Latest News

  • FIH and Sport Group announce partnership extension with renewed commitment to sustainability
  • FIH CEO Thierry Weil: “We will work on the future Stars Awards with the global hockey community”
  • India and Spain to join Women’s Pro League for Season 3
  • Poligras Magic Skill Award: ‘Amazing Argentina’ take the inaugural prize!

Our website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the FIH website. To find out more about our data policy please click here