Champions Trophy Berlin 1991
Berlin, Germany - September 13 - 22, 1991


Women's World League Semi-Finals Groups Confirmed

March 7, 2013
16 teams head to Rotterdam & London with World Cup dreams

Following the last of the women’s Hockey World League Round 2 tournaments, the FIH today announced the line-ups for the two women’s Hockey World League Semi-Final tournaments to be held in Rotterdam and London in June.

The Rabobank Hockey World League Semi-Final tournament in Rotterdam will be held from June 13-23 in conjunction with the men’s Rabo Hockey World League Semi-Final tournament.  Four teams were already qualified for the event based on their FIH World Ranking and will be joined by four teams that qualified through the earlier rounds of the Hockey World League.

The teams playing in Rotterdam are: Host Netherlands, New Zealand, Germany, Korea, Japan, India, Belgium and Chile. The Dutch enter the tournament as the top-ranked team in the FIH World Ranking. New Zealand, Germany and Korea were also automatically qualified for the Semi-Finals thanks to their top-eight spot in the FIH World Ranking.

Chile is the lowest-ranked team of the group, weighing in at #18 in the FIH World Ranking. Belgium is the only team in the Rotterdam event to play in both the Hockey World League Round 1 and Round 2 tournaments.

In addition to naming the teams, the groups, based on the FIH World Ranking, are also known for Rotterdam and are as follows.

Group A Group B
Netherlands New Zealand
Korea Germany
Japan India
Chile Belgium

The second of the Hockey World League Semi-Finals tournaments will be held in London from June 22-30. The teams that will play in the Investec Hockey World League Semi-Final event are: Argentina, England, Australia, China, USA, South Africa, Spain and Italy.  The Argentina women are the highest-ranked team in the London Semi-Final, currently holding down the second spot in the FIH World Ranking. England, Australia and China join Argentina as the teams that were automatically qualified for the Semi-Finals.

On the other end of the group, Italy made headlines by winning its Hockey World League Round 2 tournament, despite entering the event as the third-seeded team. There, they finished ahead of Spain, which they could meet again in the Semi-Finals. South Africa hosted and won its Hockey World League Round 2 tournament, while the Americans qualified for London through the Round 2 tournament in Brazil.

The groups for London are:

Group A Group B
Argentina England
China Australia
USA S. Africa
Italy Spain

Tickets information is already available for both Semi-Final tournaments. 

Tickets for the London Investec Hockey World League Semi-Final and can be ordered here

Tickets for the Rotterdam Rabobank Hockey World League Semi-Final will be available in mid-March here



Latest News

  • MJWC: South Africa & Korea to play for ninth place in Bhubaneswar
  • MJWC: Germany, Argentina, France and India reach final four on dramatic day
  • MJWC: It’s agony and ecstasy as South Africa, Pakistan, Poland and Korea hit winning ways in Bhubaneswar
  • Officials confirmed for 2022 and 2023 FIH Women’s and Men’s World Cups

Our website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the FIH website. To find out more about our data policy please click here