Champions Trophy Berlin 1991
Berlin, Germany - September 13 - 22, 1991


New Delhi named host of two major FIH events

March 6, 2013
Hero Hockey World League Finals and Hero Hockey Junior World Cup confirmed

LAUSANNE, Switzerland – The FIH announced today the official hosts and dates for two of its upcoming top events. New Delhi, India will play host to the men’s tournaments for both the Hero Hockey Junior World Cup and the Hero Hockey World League Finals.

The Hero Hockey Junior World Cup will be held from December 6-15 and it will be followed by the Hero Hockey World League Finals from January 10-18.

The Hero Hockey Junior World Cup is held once every four years and will feature the top 16 men’s junior teams battling for the supreme title. Meanwhile the Hero Hockey World League Finals is the culmination of a two-year odyssey for the Hockey World League that has seen more than 60 men’s national teams play through four rounds of competition for the ultimate prize of becoming the inaugural Hockey World League Champion.

“I can think of no better venue for our inaugural Hockey World League final tournament than India,” said FIH President Leandro Negre. “With this event we are bringing the future of hockey to a country that has one of the richest traditions in our sport. It is sure to be an action packed tournament.”

Negre continued, “The Junior World Cup is one of the gems in our event calendar. We get the see the future of hockey on display. When looking through past athletes that have competed in the Junior World Cup, it reads as a who’s who in international hockey.”

Once again Hero Motocorp will have a big influence on both tournaments. The two-wheel giant will be the title sponsor of both events, giving both events increased visibility and stature in India and around the globe.

The full line-up of teams for both events will be known once all of the qualification tournaments are completed, For the Hero Hockey World League Finals, the teams will be known following the Hockey World League Semi-Final tournaments in the Netherlands and Malaysia this June.

For the Hero Hockey Junior World Cup, the last of the 16 teams was just named when Australia won the Junior Oceania Cup. Confirmed in the field are: Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Canada England, Spain, Egypt, France, Germany India, Korea, Malaysia, Netherlands, New Zealand Pakistan and South Africa. 


Latest News

  • World Games Athlete of the Year nominee PR Sreejesh looking forward to 2022 challenges
  • Women's Asia Cup: Where anything can happen
  • Rising RSA star Dayaan Cassiem talks Tokyo 2020, FIH Hockey Pro League and more
  • Prospect of World Cup qualification turns up the heat at Pan Am Cup in Chile

Our website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the FIH website. To find out more about our data policy please click here