Owen G Glenn Champions Trophy Auckland 2011
Auckland, New Zealand - December 3 - 11, 2011


Kookaburras to face Pakistan in final test

November 2, 2011
Champions Trophy rivals to meet on Thursday

The Kookaburras will be given a final opportunity to sharpen up ahead of the 2011 Champions Trophy when they play Pakistan on Thursday 3 November in Perth.

The match will complete their 3 Nations tournament against both Pakistan and India, with an Australia A team set to take on India on Thursday as well.

After a quiet start to 2011 in which the Kookaburras hardly played until mid way through the year, they are regaining their momentum which saw them win every major championship in 2010, winning the Oceania Cup against New Zealand in early October, winning the Lanco International Suer Series and now remaining undefeated during the 3 Nations tournament against Pakistan and India.

Not only have they remained undefeated but they have been winning well, victorious in each of their four games by an average of four goals.

Their ability to score also seems to be no issue for the world number 1 team, scoring an average of six goals per match.

A number of senior players have been named in the Australia A side including Fergus Kavanagh, Joel Carroll and Luke Doerner, who have all recently returned from injury.

4 time world player of the year Jamie Dwyer will also be rested from the matches on Thursday.

Kookaburras coach Ric Charlesworth said he has been happy with the teams progression, but there is still much room for improvement.

“There has been some good hockey (during the 3 Nations tournament) played. Pakistan are always a difficult team and I expect it to be a real challenge for us when we play them on Thursday. I still think we have a lot of loose ends to tie up but certainly from the Oceania Cup and the Lanco International Super Series and now at this tournament we are getting to a better level,” said Charlesworth.

Kookaburras squad v Pakistan
Thursday 3 November 8pm WST @ the Perth Hockey Stadium
Nathan Burgers (QLD), Chris Ciriello (VIC), Kiel Brown (WA), Ian Burcher (WA), Liam De Young (QLD), Tristan White (NSW), Tim Deavin (TAS), Jonathon Charlesworth (WA), Simon Orchard (NSW), Eddie Ockenden (TAS), Glenn Simpson (VIC), Mark Paterson (NSW), Kieran Govers (NSW), Des Abbott (NT), Jason Wilson (QLD), Russell Ford (VIC)

Australia A squad v India
Thursday 3 November 4pm WST @ the Perth Hockey Stadium
George Bazeley (VIC), Andrew Charter (ACT), Brent Dancer (WA), Joel Carroll (NT), Chris Bausor (WA), Fergus Kavanagh (WA), Luke Doerner (VIC), Mark Knowles (QLD), Aran Zalewski (WA), Matthew Butturini (NSW), Matthew Willis (NSW), Daniel Hotchkis (ACT), Daniel Mirecki (VIC), Josh Miller (NSW), Tim Bates (QLD), Jacob Whetton (QLD), Trent Mitton (WA), Matt Gohdes (QLD)

Hockey Australia media release


Latest News

  • Tense times on road to World Cup qualification
  • FIH and Sport Group announce partnership extension with renewed commitment to sustainability
  • FIH CEO Thierry Weil: “We will work on the future Stars Awards with the global hockey community”
  • India and Spain to join Women’s Pro League for Season 3

Our website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the FIH website. To find out more about our data policy please click here