Owen G Glenn Champions Trophy Auckland 2011
Auckland, New Zealand - December 3 - 11, 2011


Dwyer added to AIS 'Best of the Best' Hall of Fame

November 4, 2011
Four time World Player of the Year receives yet another accolade

Hockey Australia are proud to reveal that Kookaburras Champion Jamie Dwyer has been inducted to the Australian Institute of Sport’s (AIS) ‘Best of the Best’ Hall of Fame.
The announcement was made by Minister for Sport Mark Arbib.

Coinciding with the AIS’s 30th anniversary, Dwyer has been inducted along with former and current AIS scholarship holders Ricky Ponting (cricket), Matt Cowdrey (swimming), Malcolm Page (sailing) and Anna Meares (cycling).

Senator Arbib praised the accomplishments of the five athletes who will now be officially recognised among the AIS’s finest.

“The AIS has excelled in producing and developing elite athletes throughout its history and Ricky, Matt, Jamie, Malcolm and Anna are truly deserving of this accolade,” Senator Arbib said.

“Their records speak for themselves with the five sharing between them 14 Paralympic gold medals, three Olympic gold medals, three ICC World Cup victories and countless world championships and Commonwealth Games gold medals,” senator Arbib said.

The ‘Best of the Best’ was created in 2002, the year in which the AIS celebrated its 21st birthday, with 21 athletes inducted as part of the inaugural list. A further four were added in 2006 to coincide with the Institute’s 25th anniversary.

The five new inductees will be recognised formally at the 2011 AIS Awards at AIS Arena next Thursday.

The Australian Government commits about $110 million annually towards High Performance sport in Australia, with $43 million contributed towards AIS funding.

The AIS ‘Best of the Best’ Hall of Fame

Robert de Castella (athletics)
Vicki Wilson (netball)
Michelle Martin (squash)
Luc Longley (basketball)
Todd Woodbridge (tennis)
Rechelle Hawkes (hockey)
Louise Sauvage (Paralympic athletics)
Clint Robinson (sprint canoe)
John Eales (rugby)
Kate Slatter (rowing)
Mark Viduka (football)
Glenn McGrath (cricket)
Shane Kelly (track cycling)
Michael Milton (Paralympic sport)
Bridgit Gusterson (water polo)
Petria Thomas (swimming)
Neil Fuller (Paralympic athletics)
Michael Klim (swimming)
Zali Steggall (skiing)
Simon Fairweather (archery)
Alisa Camplin (aerial skiing)
Kerry Saxby-Junna (athletics)
Stuart O’Grady (cycling)
Chantelle Newberry (diving)
Lauren Jackson (basketball)

New Additions in 2011

Ricky Ponting (cricket)
Anna Meares (track cycling)
Matt Cowdrey (Paralympic swimming)
Jamie Dwyer (hockey)
Malcolm Page (sailing)

Hockey Australia media release


Latest News

  • Tense times on road to World Cup qualification
  • FIH and Sport Group announce partnership extension with renewed commitment to sustainability
  • FIH CEO Thierry Weil: “We will work on the future Stars Awards with the global hockey community”
  • India and Spain to join Women’s Pro League for Season 3

Our website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the FIH website. To find out more about our data policy please click here