Owen G Glenn Champions Trophy Auckland 2011
Auckland, New Zealand - December 3 - 11, 2011


Champions Trophy - By The Numbers preview

December 1, 2011
Infostrada sports provide the stats ahead of the Owen G Glenn FIH Champions Trophy

On Saturday, 3 December, the Owen G Glenn FIH Champions Trophy starts in Auckland, New Zealand. Infostrada Sports offers you an impression of the tournament by the numbers.

The 2011 Owen G Glenn FIH Champions Trophy is the first Champions Trophy tournament hosted by New Zealand.

3:   Australia and Germany are the only two countries to have won 3 successive Champions Trophy titles. Germany (1986-1988), Australia (1983- 1985) and (2008-2010). Australia aim to become the first team to win the CT in four successive editions.

4:   Four countries have won the Champions Trophy as hosts - Australia (4 times), Pakistan (3 times), Netherlands (3 times) and Germany (2 times). The last hosts to win the Trophy were Australia in 2009.

5:   The record for most goals scored in a Champions Trophy match stands at five and is jointly held by Dutchmen: Paul Litjens (vs England in 1981), Ties Kruize (vs Pakistan in 1982) and Taco van den Honert (vs Pakistan in 1993).

6:   The record of 6 CT gold medals is shared by five players: Jeroen Delmee, Guus Vogels, Teun de Nooijer, Sander van der Weide (all NED) and Carsten Fischer (GER). Teun de Nooijer chases a record 7th Champions Trophy gold medal in Auckland.

7:   The fastest hat-tricks ever in a Champions Trophy match were scored within 7 minutes. In 2001 England’s Dave Matthews scored three goals against Korea (46’, 50’ and 53’) and in 2009 Korea’s Nam Hyun-Woo also scored 3 goals in 7 minutes (58’, 61’, 65’) vs Spain.

8:   The biggest win a CT match came in 1992 when Australia beat France by an 8-goal margin (9-1)

11:  Australia have won a record 11 Champions Trophies, since the beginning of the competition in 1978.

11:  Pakistan hold the record for winning successive Champions Trophy matches. Pakistan won 11 consecutive matches from the 1st edition in 1978 until their 1-0 defeat against Netherlands in the 3rd edition in 1981. Australia are on a running streak of 8 wins in CT matches coming into this tournament.

12:  Craig Davies (AUS), Jeroen Delmee (NED) and Teun de Nooijer (NED) share the record for most CT medals (12). Teun de Nooijer breaks the record if the Netherlands clinch a medal in Auckland.

15:  Paul Litjens of the Netherlands holds the record for most goals scored in a single tournament. In 1980 in Karachi Litjens scored 15 goals in six matches.

16:  At age 16 years Pakistan’s Muhammad Tauseeq is the youngest player at Auckland 2011.

17:  Dutchman Teun de Nooijer participates in a record breaking 17th Champions Trophy tournament. De Nooijer has been present at every Champions Trophy since 1995.

24:  Pakistan is the youngest team at Auckland 2011 with an average age of 24 years and 91 day.

25:  Australia have won a record 25 CT medals: 11 Gold – 10 Silver - 4 Bronze.

26:  Great Britain are the oldest team at Auckland 2011 with an average age of 28 years and 8 days.

32:  Australia participate for a record 32nd time in the Men’s Champions Trophy. Australia only missed out on the 2004 event.

33:  This is the 33rd edition of the Men’s Champions Trophy. The Champions Trophy, hockey’s only annual world tournament, is held since 1978 (with the exception of 1979).

36:  At age 36, Pakistan’s Sohail Abbas is the oldest player at Auckland 2011.

45:   Holland’s Taeke Taekema is the all-time Champions Trophy top scorer on 45 goals. His team mate Teun de Nooijer is second on 42 CT goals.

177:   Australia have played a record 177 matches in Champions Trophy competition.

484:    Australia have scored most goals in Champions Trophy history. In 177 matches they netted 484 goals.

2589:  In all previous editions of the Champions Trophy 2589 goals have been scored in 565 matches. This constitutes an average of 4.6 goals per match.


Latest News

  • Tense times on road to World Cup qualification
  • FIH and Sport Group announce partnership extension with renewed commitment to sustainability
  • FIH CEO Thierry Weil: “We will work on the future Stars Awards with the global hockey community”
  • India and Spain to join Women’s Pro League for Season 3

Our website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the FIH website. To find out more about our data policy please click here