Rabo Champions Trophy Amstelveen 2011
Amstelveen, Netherlands - June 25 - 3, 2011


Netherlands women's squad named for Rabo FIH Champions Trophy

June 14, 2011

The coach of the Dutch women's hockey team Max Caldas has announced the 18-player squad for the Rabo FIH Champions Trophy, which takes place in Amstelveen's famous Wagener Stadium (Amsterdam) between June 25th and July 3rd 2011. The squad can be found below.

Netherlands women -  Rabo FIH Champions Trophy 2011

Name - Club
Floortje Engels (GK) - Amsterdam H&BC
Claire Verhage - S.C.H.C.
Wieke Dijkstra - Laren
Carlien Dirkse van den Heuvel - S.C.H.C.
Eva de Goede - Amsterdam H&BC
Lidewij Welten - Den Bosch
Caia van Maasakker - S.C.H.C.
Marieke Veenhoven - Amsterdam H&BC
Maartje Paumen (C) - Den Bosch
Naomi van As - Laren
Carlijn Welton - Laren
Sabine Mol - Den Bosch
Daphne van der Velden - Oranje Zwart
Joyce Sombroek (K) - Laren
Kim Lammers - Laren
Willemijn Bos - Laren
Margot van Geffen - Den Bosch
Marilyn Agliotti - Oranje Zwart
An initial group of 23 players had to be reduced to the 18 that will play in the FIH Champions Trophy. However, the five players that missed out - Ellen Hoog (Amsterdam H&BC), Sophie Polkamp (Amsterdam H&BC), Merel de Blaey (Laren), Kitty van Male (Amsterdam H&BC), Maartje Goderie (Den Bosch) - can still make the squad for the EuroHockey Nations Championships which take place in August in Monchengladbach, Germany. The Netherlands could secure a berth at the London 2012 Olympics by a top two finish at that particular tournament. Third place may also be good enough if England finish in the top two places due to their ranking connection with Great Britain, who have already qualified for the Games as hosts. 
Kelly Jonker, Kiki Collot d'Escury and Michelle van der Pols are not in action this summer for the Dutch women's team because of injuries. Vera Vorstenbosch, Inge Vermeulen Fieke Holman Floor Verheul and Renske van Geel are currently no longer part of the selection.

Source Material: KNHB Media Release.


Latest News

  • FIH CEO Thierry Weil: “We will work on the future Stars Awards with the global hockey community”
  • India and Spain to join Women’s Pro League for Season 3
  • Poligras Magic Skill Award: ‘Amazing Argentina’ take the inaugural prize!
  • Stars Awards: Olympic success wave continues for India

Our website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the FIH website. To find out more about our data policy please click here