News

The Hockeyroos squad for the Hockey Champions Trophy has been confirmed Photo: Hockey Australia

Australia squad for Hockey Champions Trophy confirmed

May 17, 2016

Australia's Hockeyroos have named their squads for two upcoming events including the Hockey Champions Trophy in London, England and the International Hockey Open in Darwin, Australia. 

Head Coach Adam Commens has selected strong teams of 18 to compete in each event, with members of the core Hockeyroos squad being given the opportunity to cement their places in the team ahead of selection for the 2016 Rio Olympics. 

The International Hockey Open will see hometown favourite Brooke Peris return to Darwin to play in the last Hockeyroos games in Australia before the Rio Olympics. Kellie White is a noticeable return to the team, after a positive recovery from injury. 

Hockeyroos captain Madonna Blyth will be absent from the squad in Darwin, however will return to the Hockey Champions Trophy Squad to compete in London. 

Adam Commens said: “The International Hockey Open in Darwin is a fantastic opportunity for us to prepare against high quality Olympic opposition in the lead into the Champions Trophy. With Madonna and Mariah [Williams] unavailable due to injury for this tournament, we are hopeful that they will be available for the Champions Trophy. (Mariah Williams – knee; Madonna Blyth, Calf.)

“With these two series being so close to the Olympic Games is it is likely that our Olympic 16 will come from these 20 players, however if necessary we are confident that any player from our broader squad will be prepared to perform in Rio.”
 
Hockey Champions Trophy, London, England 18-26 June (Featuring USA, New Zealand, Argentina, Netherlands, Great Britain)
Hockeyroos Fixtures
Saturday 18 June: AUS v USA | 12pm BST / 7pm AWST / 9pm AEST

Sunday 19 June: AUS v NZL | 4pm BST / 11pm AWST / 1am AEST (Monday 20)
Tuesday 21 June: AUS v ARG | 2.30pm BST / 9.30pm AWST / 11.30pm AEST 
Thursday 23 June: AUS v NED | 6pm BST / 1am AWST (Friday 24) / 3am AEST (Friday 24)
Saturday 25 June: GBR v AUS | 4pm BST / 11pm AWST / 1am AEST (Sunday 26)
Sunday 26 June: Finals TBC 

Hockey Champions Trophy Squad
Madonna Blyth (C) (Brisbane, QLD)
Edwina Bone (Evatt, ACT)
Jane Claxton (Adelaide, SA)
Anna Flanagan (Canberra, ACT)
Jodie Kenny (Wamuran, QLD)
Rachael Lynch (Warrandyte, VIC)
Karri McMahon (Berri, SA)
Georgina Morgan (Armidale, NSW)
Gabrielle Nance (Kingscliff, SA)
Georgia Nanscawen (Melbourne, VIC)
Georgina Parker (Berri, SA)
Brooke Peris (Darwin, NT)
Casey Sablowski (Albion Park, NSW)
Kathryn Slattery (South Stirling, WA)
Emily Smith (Crookwell, NSW)
Grace Stewart (Gerringong, NSW)
Ashlee Wells (Morwell, VIC)
Mariah Williams (Parkes, NSW)

International Hockey Open, Darwin, Australia 30 May-4 June
 (Featuring New Zealand, Japan and India)
Hockeyroos Fixtures
Tuesday 31 May: AUS v JPN | 7.00pm ACST / 5.30pm AWST / 7.30pm AEST
Wednesday 1 June: AUS v NZL | 7.00pm ACST / 5.30pm AWST / 7.30pm AEST
Friday 3 June: AUS v IND | 7.00pm ACST / 5.30pm AWST / 7.30pm AEST
Saturday 4 June: Finals TBC


International Hockey Open Squad
Edwina Bone (Evatt, ACT)
Jane Claxton (Adelaide, SA)
Kirsten Dwyer (Mackay, QLD) 
Anna Flanagan (Canberra, ACT)
Jodie Kenny (Wamuran, QLD)
Rachael Lynch (Warrandyte, VIC)
Karri McMahon (Berri, SA)
Georgina Morgan (Armidale, NSW)
Gabrielle Nance (Kingscliff, SA)
Georgia Nanscawen (Melbourne, VIC)
Georgina Parker (Berri, SA)
Brooke Peris (Darwin, NT)
Casey Sablowski (Albion Park, NSW)
Kathryn Slattery (South Stirling, WA)
Emily Smith (Crookwell, NSW)
Grace Stewart (Gerringong, NSW)
Ashlee Wells (Morwell, VIC)
Kellie White (Crookwell, NSW)

Article courtesy of Hockey Australia. For more information about Hockey Australia, click here.

To buy tickets for the Hockey Champions Trophy 2016 in London, click here.

Back

Latest News

  • Danson demonstrates power of the mind
  • The many skills of a multi-tasking match manager
  • Youth focus
  • A bumpy road to success

Our website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the FIH website. To find out more about our data policy please click here

--google ad sense