South Africa's men's and women's teams celebrate winning the African Hockey Championships 2015 Photo: FIH

South Africa men win African Hockey Championship 2015

November 1, 2015
South Africa defeat Egypt in the final to win title

South Africa have won the 2015 men’s Greenfields African Hockey Championship after defeating Egypt 4-2 in the final in Randburg, Johannesburg, South Africa earlier today.

Egypt twice went ahead in the game, with Houssam Ghabran opening the scoring in the 36th minute.

Three goals in two minutes then followed. South Africa equalised in the 47th minute through Matthew Guise-Brown before Egypt regained the lead in the next minute as Ahmed Elnaggar got their second goal.

South Africa levelled again seconds later with Matthew Guise-Brown claiming his second of the game, before going on to claim his hat-trick, all goals from penalty corners, in the 59th minute.

Lloyd Norris-Jones then ensured the game and championship title was South Africa’s as he scored the final goal of the match in the last few seconds to make the score 4-2 to the delight of the home fans.

Like their women’s team who also won their Championship earlier in the day, South Africa men took the title having won all six games in the competition, which included four pool matches, a Semi-Final and today’s final win against Egypt.

As a result, the African continental champions will be invited to participate at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games in accordance with the International Hockey Federation (FIH) Rio 2016 Qualification System for the Olympic hockey events, approved by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

This System states that after the completion of the last Continental Championship, FIH will communicate in writing the confirmation of qualification to the National Olympic Committee (NOC) and National Association of each qualified team within 14 days of the conclusion of the competition. The NOCs will then have 14 days to confirm if they wish to use these quota places.

In this instance, the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee is responsible for accepting or declining the invitation.

To date, 11 men’s teams have qualified through the FIH Qualification System for Rio 2016. They include Asian Games champions India, Argentina as Pan Am Games champions, Netherlands as European champions, Oceania champions Australia and Germany, Belgium, Great Britain, Canada, Spain and Ireland through the Hockey World League Semi-Finals. 

Brazil men also confirmed their place at Rio 2016 after satisfying the host nation participation criteria established by IOC and FIH.

Confirmation of the teams qualified through the FIH Olympic Qualification System will be updated on the FIH website once official.

To see the teams qualified for the Olympic hockey event so far, click here for the men and here for the women.

For more information about the FIH Olympic Qualification System, click here.

Photo: FIH


Latest News

  • MJWC: Clinical Domene fires Argentina to men’s Junior World Cup title
  • Celebrating the team behind the team on International Volunteer Day
  • MJWC: South Africa men claim best ever Junior World Cup finish in Bhubaneswar
  • Argentina and Germany to contest final in Bhubaneswar

Our website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the FIH website. To find out more about our data policy please click here