African Hockey Championships 2015 schedule confirmed

October 16, 2015

The African Hockey Federation has confirmed the schedule for the African Hockey Championships 2015 being held in Randburg, Johannesburg in South Africa between 23 October and 1 November.

Nine teams including South Africa, ranked 15th in the FIH World Rankings, Egypt (20), Kenya (39), Ghana (41), Zimbabwe (55), Tanzania (73), Namibia, Uganda, Nigeria and Botswana (all unranked) will take part in the men’s event.

They will be separated into two pools, with the top two teams in each pool qualifying for the semi-finals that will then determine who plays in the final.

Meanwhile, seven teams will compete in the women’s Championship. They include South Africa, ranked 11th in the FIH World Rankings, Ghana (31), Kenya (37), Tanzania (46), Nigeria (53), Zimbabwe (55) and Namibia (unranked).

The women will play in a single round-robin, with three points awarded for a win and one point awarded for a draw.

The women’s team with the most points by the end of the round-robin will win the Championship.

These Championships bring together the best hockey players in Africa who will have an extra incentive for winning this year’s African Hockey Championship title.

The winners of the men’s and women’s championships will qualify for the Rio 2016 Olympic Games as African continental champions in what is the final Olympic qualifying competition for next year’s Olympics.

To see the full match schedule, click here.



Latest News

  • MJWC: Clinical Domene fires Argentina to men’s Junior World Cup title
  • Celebrating the team behind the team on International Volunteer Day
  • MJWC: South Africa men claim best ever Junior World Cup finish in Bhubaneswar
  • Argentina and Germany to contest final in Bhubaneswar

Our website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the FIH website. To find out more about our data policy please click here