After losing the Azlan Shah Trophy final to the Netherlands the Kookaburras will be looking for experience to help them bounce back at the Sahara Hockey Champions Trophy next month with five players, with a combined total of 554 internationals, coming back into the team.

Jamie Dwyer, Bevan George, Michael McCann and Stephen Mowlam return to the fray after being rested for Azlan Shah, while Nathan Eglington returns to the side from a knee injury sustained in the AHL final.

Stephen Lambert, Travis Brooks, David Guest, Russell Ford and Eddie Ockenden have made way from the Azlan Shah side that lost 6-2 in last week's final against the Netherlands.

"Azlan Shah was disappointing in terms of our performance in the final. It's something we are going to have to learn from very quickly," said national coach, Barry Dancer.

"We struggled with our attacking build up and that's an area we'll certainly be looking to improve on."

Eglington, Dwyer and McCann returning for the Champions Trophy will help the Kookaburras in attack, while George and Mowlam down back will also add some more strength for Dancer who took a younger side to Malaysia for development purposes.

"There were some positives to come from the tournament. Eddie Ockenden and Russell Ford were given some valuable exposure at this level, while some other players also got some more game time and Troy Elder was re-introduced to the team and did well."

Dancer will be looking to develop the side further during the Champions Trophy with all players fighting for a spot in the World Cup side.

"We'll certainly be looking at the Champions Trophy to develop the team and those players outside of this group are certainly still in consideration for selection in the World Cup."

The Kookaburras depart for Germany on Sunday (9 July) where they'll play two matches before travelling to Terrassa, Spain for the Sahara Champions Trophy which runs from 22-30 July against the other top five nations.

"This will be a fiercely competitive Champions Trophy with all teams in a similar phase of World Cup preparation. Players will be particularly keen as they're all fighting for spots so it'll be a great tournament with the top six nations in men's hockey."

Australia Men
Stephen Mowlam (VIC), Daniel McPherson (NSW), Matthew Wells (TAS), Bevan George (WA), Aaron Hopkins (WA), Luke Doerner (VIC), Dean Butler (QLD), Mark Knowles (QLD), Brent Livermore (NSW), Rob Hammond (QLD), Liam De Young (QLD), Michael Boyce (WA), Troy Elder (QLD), Nathan Eglington (QLD), Jamie Dwyer (QLD), Michael McCann (NSW), Grant Schubert (SA), Matt Naylor (NSW)