Ireland men’s coach David Passmore has made his final squad selection for the Test matches against South Africa in the New Year.

The Irish team will play matches in Potchesftroom from 12-16 January and will travel to Pretoria.

“This is an ideal opportunity to develop ourselves technically, physically and mentally towards China”, Passmore said.

“Our priority will be to utilise the climate to work hard on our technical and tactical preparation whilst further developing the physical aspects of our preparation”

“The matches are a good opportunity to measure ourselves against top 10 opposition but are not the major priority of the trip. It will be good to see how the guys cope with a long demanding trip away and the pressures that these trips bring.”

Ireland Men
Andy Barbour, Jason Black, Mark Black, Paddy Brown (captain), Karl Burns, Stephen Butler, Mark Gleghorne, Ronan Gormley, Charlie Henderson, David Hobbs, Mark Irwin, John Jermyn, Iain Lewers, Eugene Magee, Phelie Maguire, Mark Raphael, Mark Ruddle, Graham Shaw, Justin Sherriff, Brian Waring,.

Matches at the High Performance Centre in Pretoria (Times TBC):

17 January: South Africa
19 January: South Africa
20 January: New South Wales (AUS)
21 January: New South Wales (AUS)