Following the conclusion to the inaugural edition of the men’s Hockey World League competition in New Delhi, India, the FIH can now reveal the pools for this summer’s Rabobank Hockey World Cup in The Hague, Netherlands.

Pool A will consist of the 2010 World Cup champions Australia (World Ranking: 1), England (4), Belgium (5), India (8), Spain (10) and Malaysia (13), while Olympic champions Germany (2) will face hosts, the Netherlands (3), New Zealand (6), Korea (7), Argentina (11) and South Africa (12) in Pool B.

The pools for the Rabobank Hockey World Cup are based on the current FIH World Rankings, which have been updated to include the ranking points earned by the teams that competed in this month’s Hero Hockey World League Final.  The results have triggered some changes to the rankings, with Australia taking back the number 1 ranking spot from Germany who have been top of the table since their gold medal performance at London 2012.

This summer’s Rabobank Hockey World Cup promises epic clashes bringing together twelve of the world’s greatest teams and players for the toughest, most skilful and entertaining international hockey imaginable. Serving as the climax of the world hockey calendar, the Rabobank Hockey World Cup provides a unique chance to achieve sporting immortality in the Hague.

The women’s Pools were announced in December and can be found at -

The announcement of the Rabobank Hockey World Cup match schedule will be made next Friday (31st January 2014) in the Hague.

Men’s Pools – Rabobank Hockey World Cup 2014 

Where: Kyocera Stadium, The Hague (NED)
When: 31 May – 15 June 2014

Pool A

World Ranking













Pool B

World Ranking





New Zealand






South Africa











How they qualified

Rabobank Hockey World Cup – Men’s Qualifiers 

Netherlands: Hosts. 
Germany: Continental Champions Europe 
Argentina: Continental Champions Pan America
Korea: Continental Champions Asia
Australia: Continental Champions Oceania
South Africa: Continental Champions Africa
England: 3rd place – Hockey World League Semi-Final, Johor Bahru (MAS)
Belgium: 1st place – Rabobank Hockey World League Semi-Final, Rotterdam (NED) 
New Zealand: 4th place – Rabobank Hockey World League Semi-Final, Rotterdam (NED) *
Spain: 5th place – Hockey World League Semi-Final, Rotterdam (NED). **
Malaysia: 5th place – Hockey World League Semi-Final, Johor Bahru (MAS) ***
India: 6th place – Hockey World League Semi-Final, Rotterdam (NED) ****


* Netherlands finished third in the Hockey World League Semi-Final event in Rotterdam.  As they are already pre-qualified as the host, this meant that the highest ranked fourth place finisher from both Semi-Final events earned direct qualification to the Rabobank Hockey World Cup. This place was given to New Zealand, who were fourth in Rotterdam and higher ranked than Korea at the time the event took place. 
** Spain qualified as second reserve courtesy of Germany’s victory in the TriFinance EuroHockey Championships. Spain (5th in Rotterdam) were named second reserve ahead of Malaysia (5th in Johor Bahru) courtesy of a superior placing in the FIH World Rankings at the time that the event took place. 
*** Malaysia qualified as third reserve courtesy of Korea’s victory in the Asia Cup 2013.
**** India qualified as fourth reserve courtesy of Australia’s victory in the Oceania Cup 2013