Germany midfielder Tobias Hauke in action at the Hockey World League Semi Final in Johor Bahru, Malaysia.
Germany midfielder Tobias Hauke in action at the Hockey World League Semi Final in Johor Bahru, Malaysia.
(Photo: FIH / Frank Uijlenbroek)

Last week, reigning Olympic and European champions Germany revealed the squad that will be aiming to become the first ever winners of the Hockey World League at the Hero HWL Final event in New Delhi, India.

 Team coach Markus Weise has selected an strong and incredibly experienced group in a bid to lift the silverware. The team will be captained by 29-year-old attacking midfielder Oliver Korn, a player who has made over 150 international appearances for Germany. A further six players have in excess of 100 caps - Linus Butt (104), Martin Häner 118), Oskar Deecke (157), Tobias Hauke (214), Benjamin Wess (160) and Martin Zwicker (101).

An impressive, powerful looking forward line will be led by giant striker Thilo Stralkowski and instinctive goal-scorer Florian Fuchs, the FIH Young Player of the Year for 2012.

The team also includes midfielder Jan-Philipp Rabente, who famously netted two goals as Germany claimed Olympic Gold by defeating the Netherlands in the final at London 2012.

Remarkably, the squad does not contain any players from the U-21 team that became Junior World Cup champions at last month’s event in New Delhi. The youngest and most inexperienced player selected is 22-year-old Dan Nguyen Luong who has eight caps, while 34-year-old goalkeeper Tim Jessulat is the oldest member of the group. Max Müller, Christopher Zeller and Moritz Fürste miss the competition for various reasons.

"For us, the tournament in New Delhi, even if it is still relatively far away from the World Cup, is an extremely important tournament", said Markus Weise. "Almost all the other nations are coming with very strong teams, in which there will be only marginal changes to what they will use at the World Cup.”

Germany - who were winners of the Hockey World League Semi Final event in Johor Bahru, Malaysia last year - begin their title challenge on Friday 10th January when they take on Pool A rivals New Zealand, before doing battle with England (Saturday) and India (Monday) later in the week.  Pool B consists of Australia, Netherlands, Belgium, and Argentina.

The full Germany squad selected for the event can be found below.

Remember, the FIH will be providing full coverage of the glorious conclusion to the Hockey World League on all of its channels, including live streaming on . More information about the tournament can be found by clicking here

Shirt #NameDate of BirthAge *Caps
* Age as of 10-01-2014
1 JACOBI Nicolas (GK) 13-04-1987 26 54
3 BUTT Linus 12-03-1987 26 104
6 HÄNER Martin 27-08-1988 25 118
7 MATANIA Tobias 05-09-1990 23 30
9 DEECKE Oskar 16-05-1986 27 157
10 WESLEY Christopher 23-06-1987 26 94
13 HAUKE Tobias 11-09-1987 26 214
14 RABENTE Jan Philipp 03-07-1987 26 97
15 WESS Benjamin 28-07-1985 28 160
16 ARNOLD Pilt 31-05-1988 25 72
18 KORN Oliver (C) 10-06-1984 29 153
20 ZWICKER Martin 27-02-1987 26 101
22 MILTKAU Marco 18-08-1990 23 18
23 FUCHS Florian 10-11-1991 22 89
24 FÜRK Benedikt 20-10-1988 25 50
25 NGUYEN LUONG Dan 08-12-1991 22 8
26 STRALKOWSKI Thilo 02-05-1987 26 73
31 JESSULAT Tim (GK) 19-09-1979 34 52

All team lists are subject to change until the end of the Team Managers meeting on Thursday 9th January.