(Photo: Frank Uijlenbroek)

England Head Coach Bobby Crutchley has named his squad of 18 athletes to contest the 2013 ERGO Hamburg Masters which starts this Thursday, 25 July. England will play the four nations tournament alongside London Olympic gold and silver medallists Germany and the Netherlands respectively, and Ireland. The teams will all play each other once in a round robin format.

The line-up includes several changes to the squad that secured a bronze medal and World Cup qualification at the recent World League Semi Final in Malaysia. With five places available, a key addition to the squad is London Olympian Iain Lewers who is back to full time training after spending nearly a year on the sidelines with a knee injury. After suffering niggling injuries since the 2012 Champions Trophy, Alastair Brogdon is also named in the 18 alongside relative newcomers David Condon and Phil Roper. The final spot is filled by Cannock’s Patrick Smith who will be hoping to make his debut in England’s goal.

The athletes who will not make the trip include East Grinstead duo Ashley Jackson and Mark Gleghorne who have both been ruled out for the rest of the summer with injuries. Jackson flew back from Malaysia early to have a planned operation on his ankle, while Gleghorne suffered a foot injury against Argentina in the semi-final match. Goalkeeper James Bailey and Beeston’s Ollie Willars and Ben Arnold will also sit this trip out as Crutchley offers opportunities to other players ahead of the NOW: Pensions Nations Cup and the TriFinance EuroHockey Championships in August.

The team fly out to Hamburg tomorrow with their first game against the Netherlands on Thursday at 11:30am (UK time). Friday is a rest day, followed by games against Germany and Ireland on Saturday and Sunday respectively.

England’s first game against the Netherlands will be watched with particular interest ahead of the NOW: Pensions Nations Cup which will see the FIH world number three and four sides face each other in a three-match test series at Wakefield Hockey Club from 1-4 August.

Tickets for the NOW: Pensions Nations Cup are available to buy now, visit englandhockey.co.uk/nationscup for more information. 


England Men’s Squad for ERGO Hamburg Masters 2013

Name (Position)

Alastair Brogdon (Forward)

Tom Carson (Forward)

Nick Catlin (Midfielder/Forward)

Darren Cheesman (Forward)

David Condon (Midfielder)

Adam Dixon (Midfielder/Defender)

Dan Fox (Defender)

Michael Hoare (Defender)

Iain Lewers (Defender)

Simon Mantell (Forward)

Harry Martin (Midfielder)

Barry Middleton (Midfielder/Forward)

George Pinner (Goalkeeper)

Phil Roper (Forward)

Dan Shingles (Midfielder)

Patrick Smith (Goalkeeper)

Richard Smith (Defender)

Henry Weir (Midfielder / Defender)


ERGO Hamburg Masters 2013 fixtures

Date       Fixture 

25 July 2013

12:00      Netherlands - England      

15:00      Germany - Ireland              

27 July 2013

14:00      Netherlands - Ireland         

16:30      England - Germany            

28 July 2013

11:30      Ireland - England

14:00      Germany - Netherlands