The FIH will announce the 2012 Women’s Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year as part of the festivities at the Rabobank Hockey World League later this week.

Five players for each category have been shortlisted for the prestigious award. For the Women’s Player of the Year, the five finalists are:

Luciana Aymar – ARG

Crista Cullen -  GBR

Kim Lammers - NED

Maartje Paumen – NED

Kayla Sharland – NZL

On the Junior side, the five finalists are:

Erica Coppey – BEL, 1991

Cheon Eun Bi - KOR, 1992

Anna Flanagan – AUS, 1992

Florencia Habif – ARG, 1993

Stacey Michelsen – NZL,1991

The men’s player of the year was announced already at the 2012 Champions Trophy in Melbourne, Australia. Winning that award was Moritz Fuerste from Germany. His teammate Florian Fuchs took home the Young Player of the Year award. The women’s 2012 announcement is just now being made due to the fact the Hockey World League Semi-Finals are the first major event since the London Olympic Games to present the award to the winners.