Netherlands men’s coach Roelant Oltmans has named a squad to play Spain in a one-off international in Terrassa next Tuesday.

While four players from the Oranje Zwart club were unavailable for selection due to domestic league commitments the day after the match, but Oltmans has still named a powerful line-up to take on the Champions Trophy and European champions.

Those unavailable are Matthijs Brouwer and Rob Reckers, and youngsters Robert van der Horst and Teun Rohof. The quartet’s absence has given development squad members Eby Kessing and Thomas Boerma a chance to travel to Spain.

The team contains eight players with less than 50 international matches to their credit but boasts a wealth of experience in Jeroen Delmee (317 caps), Teun de Nooijer (307), Sander van der Weide (227), Rob Derikx (124), Ronald Brouwer (112) and Karel Klaver (104).

It will be the first meeting between the teams since Spain scored three goals in the final four minutes to defeat the Netherlands to win the European Nations Cup in September and will also give both coaches an opportunity to assess one of their rivals ahead of the Sahara Hockey Champions Trophy in Chennai, India, in December.

Netherlands Men
Thomas Boerma (2)
Ronald Brouwer (112)
Thijs de Greeff (5)
Teun de Nooijer (307)
Jeroen Delmee (317)
Geert-Jan Derikx (95)
Rob Derikx (124)
Floris Evers (79)
Timme Hoyng (29)
Eby Kessing (0)
Karel Klaver (104)
Jesse Mahieu (38)
Nick Meijer (21)
Guus Vogels (176 caps)
Taeke Taekema (125)
Sander van der Weide (227)
Klaas Veering (23)
Roderick Wuesthof (25)
Coach: Roelant Oltmans
Assistant Coach: Hans Streeder
Manager: Harrie Delmee