Kate Walsh (#11) will serve for four years on the Athlete's Commission
Kate Walsh (#11) will serve for four years on the Athlete's Commission
(Photo: England Hockey / Ady Kerry)

Congratulations to Kate Walsh, who has been elected to serve on the British Olympic Association's Athletes' Commission.

Kate, the captain of the Great Britain and England teams, is one of six Olympians who have been elected by their peers to serve on the Commission.  Each of the athletes has been elected for a four year term.

The athletes elected include a trio of Olympians who were members of Team GB at the London 2012 Olympic Games: Kate is joined by rowing gold medallist Katherine Grainger and athletics sprinter Christian Malcolm, who is a veteran of four consecutive Olympic Games.

Joining the 2012 Olympians on the Commission are double Olympic gold medallist rower James Cracknell, Beijing 2008 modern pentathlon silver medallist Heather Fell and Athens 2004 diving silver medallist Leon Taylor.

Grainger and Taylor were re-elected for what is the second of a maximum three terms which they are eligible to serve, while Walsh, Malcolm, Cracknell and Fell were elected for their first term.

The composition of the BOA Athletes’ Commission now includes 14 athletes from 10 sport disciplines. The 11 summer and three winter Olympians bring to the commission the combined experience of having participated in 40 Olympic Games (summer and winter) and having won 12 Olympic medals.

The Commission, which was formed in July 2010, is an advisory group that represents the perspective and expertise of athletes and provides input to the many initiatives and programmes offered by the BOA. The creation of the Commission followed a recommendation from the International Olympic Committee to ensure that athletes possess a meaningful voice in the decision-making processes of National Olympic Committees.

More information on this story can be found by clicking here (External Link: England Hockey website).

Source Material: England Hockey