The Dutch women are the current Olympic Champions
The Dutch women are the current Olympic Champions
(Photo: FIH / Frank Uijlenbroek)

Dutch women's head coach Max Caldas has announced his squad for London, a team that will be aiming to defend the Olympic gold medal from the Beijing Games 4 years ago.

Eight of the players who won the 2008 title have been selected to represent their country again: Marilyn Agliotti, Naomi van As, Ellen Hoog, Sophie Polkamp, Maartje Paumen, Maartje Goderie, Lidewij Welten and Eva de Goede. A small surprise in this line-up is the inclusion of Sophie Polkamp who missed almost the entire past season because of injury.

The other half of the team will be making their Olympic debut - a group that remarkably includes veteran striker Kim Lammers. After having missed the 2008 Games due to a knee injury, 31-year-old Lammers, with 145 caps under her belt, as well as a World Cup gold and 2 silvers, will experience her first Olympic hockey tournament, as well as quite possibly her last big international tournament, having previously indicated her desire to re-focus her ambitions after London.

Also set to make her Olympic debut is Kelly Jonker who travelled to Beijing four years ago as one of the team's P accredited players who may come into the squad and have a chance to play only if one of the members of the 16 player contingent becomes incapacitated through injury or illness. Jonker wasn't called upon then, and subsequently didn't receive a gold medal, but is a part of the core 16 in the upcoming Olympic tournament.

The other 2008 P accredited player, goalkeeper Floortje Engels, has been dealt an especially tough hand, finding herself as the substitute at the second consecutive Olympic Games. After seeing the lead role go to the older and more experienced Lisanne de Roever in 2008, Engels this time takes a backseat to 21-year-old Joyce Sombroek, Holland's goalkeeping supertalent who burst onto the scene at the 2010 Champions Trophy at the tender age of 18, to find herself first goalkeeper and World Cup silver medallist only a few months later.

Squad: Marilyn Agliotti, Naomi van As, Merel de Blaey, Willemijn Bos, Margot van Geffen, Eva de Goede, Maartje Goderie, Carlien Dirkse van den Heuvel, Ellen Hoog, Kelly Jonker, Kim Lammers, Kitty van Male, Maartje Paumen, Sophie Polkamp, Joyce Sombroek (GK), Lidewij Welten

P accreditations: Floortje Engels (GK), Caia van Maasakker

Source: KNHB