Mark Knowles (left) has been selected for the Lanco Super Series
Mark Knowles (left) has been selected for the Lanco Super Series
(Photo: FIH / Stanislas Brochier)
The Kookaburras will be looking to take advantage of the new rules and scoring opportunities at the Lanco International Super Series, selecting a 23 man squad with plenty of fire power. With new rules for the tournament including bigger goals, fewer players and one player staying in the forward half at all times, the Kookaburras have selected a squad filled with attackers.

This includes the return of striker Des Abbott, who will be on the squad for the first time after suffering a knee injury which sidelined him for most of the year.

Abbott’s return from injury will be a welcome addition and signals the team beginning to regain the services of several injured stars, with Jamie Dwyer and Mark Knowles also returning last week at the Oceania Cup.

Two players, Tristan Clemons and Tristan White, have been selected to represent Australia for the first time at the tournament. The task could be particularly daunting for Clemons, a WA based goalkeeper who has the job of defending goals one metre wider than usual at the tournament.

The 23-player squad will be reduced to 18 players on October 16 before the tournament begins at the Perth Hockey Stadium on October 20.

The Australian men will take on India, New Zealand and Pakistan while the women will face India and Malaysia.

For further information on the new rules of the tournament visit

Kookaburras 23 man Lanco International Super Series squad:
Des Abbott (NT), George Bazeley (VIC), Kiel Brown (WA), Ian Burcher (WA), Matthew Butturini (NSW), Chris Ciriello (VIC), Tristan Clemons (WA), Liam De Young (WA), Tim Deavin (TAS), Jamie Dwyer (QLD), Russell Ford (VIC), Matt Gohdes (QLD), Kieran Govers (NSW), Fergus Kavanagh (WA), Mark Knowles (QLD), Mark Paterson (NSW), Eddie Ockenden (TAS), Simon Orchard (NSW), Glenn Simpson (VIC), Matthew Swann (QLD), Glenn Turner (ACT), Tristan White (NSW), Jason Wilson (QLD)

Hockey Australia Media Release