(Photo: © FIH / Alex Masters)

The selection Committee of the Pakistan Hockey Federation has announced the 16 member team for Commonwealth Games to be held in New Delhi, India.

Selectors and team management has passed the fitness of Zeeshan Ashraf and Kashif Javed after taking fitness test at the National Hockey Stadium on Monday. The team will leave for Delhi on September 29. 

Chairman Selection Committee Hanif Khan said that the selection commitee finalized the team after observing the performance and fitness of players during the European tour.  

Pakistan men will compete in Pool A of the ten team tournament, which also contains Australia, Malaysia, India and Scotland. Pool B conprises of England, New Zealand, Canada, South Africa and Trinidad & Tobago.
The hockey competition of the Commonwealth Games takes place between 4-14 October 2010, with ten mens and ten women's teams competiting for the title.

Team Pakistan: Zeeshan Ashraf (Captain), Muhammad Imran, Muhammad Irfan, Waseem Ahmad, Muhammad Rashid, Fareed Ahmad, Shafqat Rasool, Rehan Butt, Shakeel Abbasi, Abdul Haseem Khan, Muhammad Waqas Sharif, Muhammad Rizwan, Muhammad Umar Bhutta, Imran Shah, Muhammad Tauseeq, Muhammad Kashif Javed.

Team Manager: Khawaja Muhammad Junaid
Team Coach: Michel van den Heuvel
Assistant coaches: Ahmad Alam and Ajmal Khan Lodhi
Physiotherapist: Faiz Ur Rehman
Video Analyst: Nadeem Khan Lodhi