On the occasion of Olympic Day, the International Olympic Committee (IOC) and the Olympic family celebrated the 2010 Women and Sport Awards.


Five continental trophies and one world trophy were given to exceptional personalities who all have made a significant difference to boosting the development, participation and involvement of women and girls in sport around the world.


The official ceremony was held at the IOC headquarters in Lausanne, in the presence of IOC President Jacques Rogge; Anita DeFrantz, IOC member and Chairperson of the IOC Women and Sport Commission; the members of the IOC Women and Sport Commission; IOC Executive Board members; and guests invited to take part in the Olympic Day celebrations.

The winners of the 2010 Women and Sport Awards – five women and one man - include former Olympic medalists, sports leaders and political decision-makers.

National Olympic Committees (NOCs), International Federations (IFs) and Continental Associations were invited to submit candidatures, and the winners were selected by the IOC Women and Sport Commission. This year, the trophies were awarded as follows:

  • IOC World Trophy: Erica Terpstra (Netherlands)