(Photo: © FIH / Stanislas Brochier)

The Hockeyroos have chosen experience over youth in their bid to qualify for the BDO FIH World Cup 2010, with some experienced players selected in the Hockeyroos BDO World Cup Qualifier squad.


After competing for the Hockeyroos during their recent 4 test series against Argentina, Young strikers Georgia Nanscawen (17 years of age) and Emily Hurtz (20 years of age) have not been selected in the squad.


Instead Hockeyroos coach Frank Murray has chosen the more experienced pair of Amy Korner and Claire Messent to compliment Shelly Liddelow as strikers as the team prepares to qualify for the BDO FIH World Cup 2010 which will be held in Argentina from 28 August–11 September.


Alison Bruce has also been omitted from the squad that recently faced Argentina, making way for Kobie McGurk who will return to the Hockeyroos for the first time since injuring her ACL ten months ago. Although McGurk was also selected within the Hockeyroos squad during the 4 test series against Argentina, she did not play.


With the BDO World Cup Qualifier to be held in Santiago, Chile from 24 April–2 May, the Hockeyroos must win the tournament in order to qualify for the BDO FIH World Cup.


Murray said it was with this in mind that he chose to go with a more experienced line up.


“We have chosen a squad with experience and strength. Bruce has made way due to the return of Kobie McGurk and Amy Korner and Claire Messent are our most experienced available strikers along with Shelly Liddelow who played during the recent Argentina series,” said Murray.


Veteran striker Megan Rivers has also been unavailable since November 2009 after suffering a stress fracture in her foot.


Murray said that it was difficult not to pick some of the younger players who have shown considerable improvement, but the high stakes of winning the tournament were too great.


“Obviously the players who have not been selected are still well and truly in the mix moving forward. They have shown continual improvement, particularly Georgia Nanscawen who I thought played well against Argentina in the recent series.


It is difficult but we need experience near our goals. This is an important tournament with some good teams playing against us, so our young players need to be patient and resilient,” said Murray.


A young player who has made selection is 18 year old Anna Flanagan. Flanagan was not selected in the Hockeyroos series against Argentina, but made her international debut in February during a 3 test series against Korea in Perth.


West Australian defender Fiona Boyce has been selected as the Hockeyroos 19th player. Boyce will travel with the team in the lead up to the competition. Following final selection, a player will return to Australia at the start of the tournament.


Team Australia: Nicole Arrold, Teneal Attard, Madonna Blyth, Toni Cronk, Casey Eastham, Anna Flanagan, Kate Hollywood, Fiona Johnson, Stacia Joseph, Amy Korner, Shelly Liddelow, Rachael Lynch, Kobie McGurk, Claire Messent, Hope Munro, Ashleigh Nelson, Sarah O’Connor, Kim Walker, 19th player: Fiona Boyce.


Source: Hockey Australia