(Photo: © FIH)

The South African Hockey Association announced the Senior Men’s Hockey team that will be participating in the Hero Honda FIH World Cup tournament, which is to take place in New Delhi, India from the 28 February to 13 March 2010.

The 12th ranked South African team under the steady captaincy of Austin Smith has an opportunity to further improve on world rankings at the World Cup as they take on the crème de la crème of World Hockey. Captain Austin Smith admits that this will be the “biggest test for our new squad thus far”. Asked to comment on which team SA feared the most, Austin calmly responded by saying, “We do not fear any team. We will go into every match with a healthy respect for each team”.

Team South Africa: Paul Blake (Western Province), Shanyl Balwanth (KZN Coastals), Brendon Botes (Eastern Province), Gareth Carr (Kzn Coastals), Ian Haley (Western Province), Rhett Halkett (Northerns), Tommy Hammond (Kzn Inlands), Marvin Harper (Kzn Coastals), Julian Hykes (Amathole), Lloyd Madsen (Kzn Coastals), Thornton McDade (Southern Gauteng), Lloyd Norris-Jones (Southern Gauteng), Taine Paton (Kzn Coastals),Wade Paton (Kzn Coastals), Erasmus Pieterse (Western Province), Justin Reid-Ross (NorthWest), Jonty Robinson (Northerns.), Austin Smith (Western Province).

Source: Hockey SA