The Netherlands and Spain will host the prestigious 2006 Champions Trophy tournaments after a decision by FIH in Lausanne today.

Netherlands has been awarded the women’s Rabo Hockey Champions Trophy to be held in Amstelveen from 8-16 July, while Terrassa, Spain, will host the men’s Sahara Hockey Champions Trophy from 22-30 July. 

Both the Netherlands (women) and Spain (men) are the current Champions Trophy title holders, winning their respective events in Rosario, Argentina, and Lahore, Pakistan, in late 2004. 

The 2006 Champions Trophy tournaments will be held prior to the men’s and women’s World Cups in September and October next year to give the world’s best teams a valuable opportunity to test their skills against their closest rivals prior to the year’s biggest events in Madrid (women) and Monchengladbach (men). 

In addition to the Champions Trophy allocations, Italy has been awarded the women’s Samsung Hockey World Cup Qualifier, which will be held in Rome from 26 April to 7 May, 2006. 

It has also been decided by the Global Hockey Partners that Samsung will be the naming rights sponsor of the 2006 Women’s World Cup in Madrid, Spain, next year. The tournament will be known as the Samsung Hockey World Cup.

A full list of FIH events can be found in the Calendar section of the website.

Allocation of 2006 tournaments
2006 Rabo Hockey Champions Trophy - Amstelveen, Netherlands, 8-16 July
2006 Samsung Hockey World Cup Qualifier - Rome, Italy, 26 April-7 May

2006 Sahara Hockey Champions Trophy - Terrassa, Spain, 22-30 July 

The allocation of the following tournaments will be made at the FIH Executive Board meeting in September 2005:
2007 - Women’s Champions Trophy, Men’s Champions Challenge, Women’s Champions Challenge
2008 - Men’s Champions Trophy, Women’s Champions Trophy, Men’s Olympic Qualifier