Following last week’s trials, the national selectors of the New Zealand women’s team, Mark Hager (Coach), Chris Leslie, Tina Bell-Kake and Diana Te Awa have chosen a national squad of twenty-five players and a team to take on India in a 4 match series in NZ from 17-21 June 2009. A further seven players have been named in the Development Squad.

The National Squad named have seven (7) players who were part of the 2008 Beijing Olympic team, another seven (7) players who previously represented the Black Sticks and eleven (11) new faces which include seven (7) players in the current Junior Black Sticks team to attend the Junior World Cup in Boston in August 2009. The eleven new faces are: Anna Thorpe (Northland), Sally Rutherford, Stacey Michelsen (North Harbour), Ella Gunson, Katie Glynn, Lucy Talbot, Samantha Harrison, Stacey Brannigan (Auckland), Anita Punt (Wellington), Liz Perry and Sophie Devine (Canterbury).

Coach Mark Hager believes “this squad is a step in the right direction” and will create a fresh foundation to build international experience. Hager states, “this Black Sticks Women’s side currently has the individual skill level to perform at international level – they simply need to put it into practice”.

The Black Sticks Team to take on India in a 4 match series – two in Christchurch (17 & 18 June) and two in Nelson (20 & 21 June 2009) include a blend of ten (10) players with international experience and eight (8) players who have yet to play a senior international match.

The players selected to play against India are: Anna Thorpe, Charlotte Harrison, Jasmin McQuinn, Bianca Russell, Stacey Michelsen, Ella Gunson, Krystal Forgesson, Lucy Talbot, Samantha Harrison, Stacey Brannigan, Clarissa Eshuis, Gemma Flynn, Emily Naylor, Kayla Sharland, Anita Punt, Bridgette Allen, Kate Saunders, Stacey Carr.

Source: Hockey New Zealand