YouTube RSS

Hero Honda FIH World Cup (Men)

New Delhi, India - February 28 - March 13, 2010

Germany v Australia

Final 1-2

# Info Date Teams Score Status Match Sheet
March 13th, 2010
38 Final 1-2 6:00pm Germany GER - AUS Australia 1 - 2 (0 - 1) Final    

Match Report

The final between Germany and Australia was the 6th World Cup in a row where these 2 teams have played each other in their last match of the tournament, initially in the 3rd-4th matches, then of course in the last two Finals, both won by Germany by one goal (2-1 in 2002 and  4-3 in 2006). Australian Liam de YOUNG and German Matthias WITTHAUS are the only players in the current squads to have played in the last two Word Cup Finals.

The final was really showcasing the best two teams of the competition, with Germany still unbeaten in Delhi, with 4 wins and 2 draws, while Australia had won 5 games in a row since their loss to England on opening day. The match started in a festive atmosphere with a full venue for the first time for a game not featuring the home team. Australia were quick into action and jump into the lead in the 6th minute by Edward OCKENDEN, managing to find the ball in a goalmouth scramble to push it out of reach of Tim JESSULAT in the German goal.

The young Germans, possibly initially impressed to play in such an important game, reacted well and started to develop their impressive collective game, led by Benjamin WESS and Philip WITTE. They forced a penalty-corner after a play that saw Australian keeper Nathan BURGERS intervene as high as the 25 meter line, but it was shot wide by Martin HÄNER.

Australia had another chance on a penalty-corner but Tim JESSULAT made a superb stick save that earned him a warm ovation by the crowd. The game was played at a frantic pace and the German forwards overwhelmed the Australian defense on a few occasions, however they could never get close enough for a shot on goal and halftime was reached with the lone early goal for Australia.

Second period started in a fiery atmosphere and the experienced Australians managed to unsettle enough the German defense to earn another penalty-corner, saved on the line by Maximilian MÜLLER behind his keeper. The young German skipper, 22 years old, played extremely well during this whole competition, as a defender and as a leader, and has a bright future in front of him.

Germany suddenly pushed forward and Matthias WITTHAUS had two decisive breaks into the circles, pushing Australia on their heels for a while. They forced a penalty-corner and this time Moritz FÜRSTE propelled the ball in goal after an elaborate combination perfectly executed.

The Indian crowd had now adopted the German team and was roaring in ecstasy at each of their moves. With fatigue coming it, there was more space available and Germany were taking better advantage of it. They forced another penalty-corner, deflected high by Nathan BURGERS, and kept besieging the Australian circle, going through Australian defenders suddenly looking very tired. Australia were nevertheless awarded a penalty-corner on a confused action in the German circle and Luke DOERNER scored with a straight flick, tying in the process Taeke TAEKEMA at the top of the Goal Scorers list for the competition.

Maximilian MÜLLER forced a penalty-corner but the flick hit Nathan BURGERS straight on the helmet and the opportunity to level the score was lost. The last five minutes were played in a boisterous atmosphere. Tim JESSULAT kept his team in the game with two phenomenal saves in quick succession but a desperate final German push could not penetrate the circle and the Kookaburras could finally lift the World Cup trophy that had eluded them in the last two finals.


Match Review

Match facts (Germany v. Australia):
> Australia win the world title for the first time in 24 years.
> Australia (2G-2S-2B) and Germany (2G-2S-2B) both collect a record 8th World Cup medal.
> Luke Doerner’s championship winning PC goal was his 8th at Delhi 2010.
> Luke Doerner and Taeke Taekema (NED) share the top goal scorer title this tournament (8 goals).
> Australia have scored a total of 27 goals to become the top scoring team at Delhi 2010.
> Australia’s 27 goals came from 15 FG, 11 PC and 1 PS.
> Australia and Spain have conceded fewest goals at Delhi 2010 (8).
> Germany have scored most PC goals at Delhi 2010 (13).
> Australia have been awarded most penalty corners (36)
> Ric Charlesworth (AUS) has now won the World Title as a player (1986) and as a coach (2010).


ENG v NED (Final 3-4)


Team Pld W D L GD Pts
Pool A
Germany  GER 5 3 2 0 10 11
Netherlands  NED 5 3 1 1 10 10
South Korea  KOR 5 3 1 1 8 10
Argentina  ARG 5 2 0 3 -2 6
New Zealand  NZL 5 2 0 3 -4 6
Canada  CAN 5 0 0 5 -22 0
Pool B
Australia  AUS 5 4 0 1 17 12
England  ENG 5 4 0 1 5 12
Spain  ESP 5 3 0 2 4 9
India  IND 5 1 1 3 -4 4
South Africa  RSA 5 1 1 3 -15 4
Pakistan  PAK 5 1 0 4 -7 3


Mar 13, 2010
ENG England
Netherlands NED
GER Germany
Australia AUS
No matches to display
No matches to display
Home News Events Olympic Games World Cup Champions Trophy
Awards Honorary Awards All-Star Teams
Sport Athletes Committee World Ranking Umpiring Rules Medical Coaching Pitches Development Event Resources Awards Appointments
The FIH History of Hockey Members Executive Board Committees Statutes Contact Us Jobs
Login Terms of use
Home | Site Map | Terms of use © 2014 International Hockey Federation